Staff – University of Copenhagen

Forward this page to a friend Resize Print Bookmark and Share

IFSV English > Staff

K.M. Venkat Narayan

K.M. Venkat Narayan

Visiting professor

K.M. Venkat Narayan, MD, MSc, MBA, FRCP. Currently Ruth and O.C. Hubert Chair of Global Health, and Professor of Medicine & Epidemiology at Emory University in Atlanta, Georgia, Dr. Narayan is noted for substantial, multidisciplinary work in diabetes epidemiology.

Notably, Dr. Narayan is a physician-scientist specializing in the epidemiology and prevention of diabetes, obesity, and vascular diseases. He designed the first lifestyle intervention trial in the Pima Indians and was actively involved in early conceptualization of the Diabetes Prevention Program. He has been an investigator in a number of large, multi-center, national and international studies of diabetes (TRIAD, DPP, ACCORD, SEARCH, and CARRS). His career has spanned three continents over the last two decades, and has included posts at the National Institute of Diabetes, Digestive and Kidney Diseases and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).

Dr. Narayan directs the Emory Global Diabetes Research Center, and continues to consult for the World Health Organization, the World Bank, the International Diabetes Federation, the National Institutes of Health, CDC, the Institute of Medicine, and various governments, where he translates science to policy. With more than 350 publications, including several high-impact, seminal studies, his body of work exemplifies his leadership and significant contributions to diabetes epidemiology.

He is a Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians of Ireland, Fellow of the Faculty of Public Health Medicine, UK, Fellow of the American College of Physicians, and Fellow of the American Heart Association. He was the recipient of the American Diabetes Associations’ Kelly West award for outstanding achievement in epidemiology in 2015, of the Danish Diabetes Academy Visiting Professorship award in 2015 and Emory University’s Mentor of the Year award in 2011.


ID: 146651175