Celebrating Women in Mathematical Sciences

Every year on May 12, mathematicians across the world celebrate the International Women in Math Day. To mark this date and showcase the excellent work done in all areas of theoretical and applied mathematics, Department of Mathematical Sciences at KU and DTU Compute will hold an international conference celebrating women in mathematical sciences from May 16 to May 17, 2024 in Copenhagen. 
The conference is open to all staff and students across Denmark and neighbouring Universities and we encourage everyone to participate.  There will be four plenary talks in pure mathematics, statistics, and actuarial science, and a series of shorter contributed talks. We will also organize networking activities as well as a panel discussion on life in academia. 

Plenary speakers

Linda Sandris Larsen, Copenhagen Business School

Sandra Pott, Lund University

Birgit Richter, Universität Hamburg

Anne Marie Svane, Aalborg Universitet


Preliminary program 

Thursday, May 16

12.30-13.15   Opening Remarks and Sandwiches

13.15-15.15   Plenary Talk and 2 Contributed Talks

15.15-15.45   Coffee Break

15.45-18.00   Plenary Talk and 2 Contributed Talks

18.00-            Panel and Social Event

Friday, May 17

9.00-10.30     Plenary Talk and 1 Contributed Talk

10.30-11.00   Coffee Break

11.00-12.30   Plenary Talk and 1 Contributed Talk

12.30-13.15   Closing Remarks and Sandwiches



This event is possible thanks to the generous funding of the Danish Mathematical Society,  Department of Mathematical Sciences, and the research center QMATH.

Limited funding is available to cover travel costs. We will prioritize participants with no other means of funding, and in particular junior participants and those who contribute short talks.



Please fill out the registration form by April 20. 

If you would like to contribute a short talk (20 minutes + 5 minutes Q&A), please submit your title and abstract here by March 31.

Organizing commitee

Lara Baalbaki (DTU), Nena Batenburg (KU), Yiqiu Dong (DTU), Elisenda Feliu (KU), Marzieh Hasannasabjaldehbakhani (DTU), Nidhi Kaihnsa (KU), Myrto Limnios (KU), Maria Montanucci (DTU), Cecilie Olesen Recke (KU), Nathalie Wahl (KU), Adela Zhang (KU)


If you have any questions, please email Cecilie Olesen Recke (cor@math.ku.dk) and Adela Zhang (yz@math.ku.dk)